



Speech by

Hon. PETER BEATTIE

MEMBER FOR BRISBANE CENTRAL

Hansard 25 November 1999

MINISTERIAL STATEMENT

Queensland Commemorative Events and Celebrations Committee

Hon. P. D. BEATTIE (Brisbane Central— ALP) (Premier) (9.38 a.m.), by leave: I want to put more pride, pomp and partying into celebrating our two biggest days of the year: Australia Day and Queensland Day. 4 July is a hugely important day for everyone in the United States and 14 July fires up all the French with national fervour. I want to see that sort of passion and enthusiasm in every town and community across this great State of ours for Australia Day on 26 January and Queensland Day on 6 June.

That is why I am establishing a 14-member Queensland Commemorative Events and Celebrations Committee. It will operate in my portfolio and will coordinate the celebration of Australia Day, Queensland Day and any other occasions as they arise. I want to see us all treat our important days with the respect and ceremony they deserve, and the committee will work towards that.

Councillor Tom Pyne, the Mayor of Cairns and one of the best-known and most respected figures in north Queensland, will chair the committee. He has been approved by Cabinet and appointed by Executive Council. His committee will include my Parliamentary Secretary with responsibility for Multicultural Affairs, the member for Sandgate, Gordon Nuttall. Councillor Julie Boyd, the Mayor of Mackay since 1997, will be a member. Mr Bernie Green, executive officer to Brisbane's Lord Mayor and a member of the board of the Australia Day Council Queensland, will be a member.

Brisbane businessman, Mr Reg Clairs, who was nominated for this committee by the National Australia Day Council, will be a member. Mr John Penglis, the current chairman of the Australia Day Council Queensland, will be a member. Mr Alan Hales, a board member of the Australia Day Council Queensland for the past five years, will be a member. Mr Roger Harcourt, a member of the Australia Day Council Queensland for the past three years, will be a member. Mrs Del Townsend, who is also a member of the Australia Day Council Queensland, will be a member, will be a member.

Mrs Marion McMahon, the principal of the Shailer Park State School and someone who has worked on a number of education committees, will be a member. Mr Des Power, Chairman of Queensland Events Corporation, will be a member. Ms Vicki Wilson, who needs no introduction—she is, quite simply, the best netballer Australia has ever produced—will be a member. Mr Nick Xynias, who is chairman of Queensland's Ethnic Communities Council, will be a member. Ms Helen Ringrose, who is the deputy director-general of my department, will provide executive services in the Department of the Premier and Cabinet.